top of page
  • Writer's pictureSue

Spring is in Bloom




Spring is here now, and it is the perfect time to stop to smell the roses so to speak. I love seeing the azaleas and red bud trees that are blooming in Fort Bend right now. Take time to notice them in your area; maybe go for a walk along an area with azaleas or take a few pictures of them. We have started bluebonnet season, but apparently, they are going to be late bloomers this year. I’m told there are some blooming in Fulshear near Main Street and 1093. I’m also going to check out my secret local bluebonnet spot soon to see if they are blooming there yet. I feel like I’m on bluebonnet watch. Is that a thing? That’s one of the downsides to nature- it doesn’t follow a set schedule. The other is pollen; don’t get me started on that. I’m going to arm myself with Zyrtec and Mucinex and eat outside every chance I get to enjoy Spring weather. I strive to take advantage of the few chances we get to enjoy the weather outside here in Fort Bend County. I won’t let allergies stop me. One of my future blog posts may be about restaurants in Fort Bend County with outdoor seating where you can enjoy Spring weather. What are some of your favorite places in Fort Bend to see flowers or to enjoy a meal outdoors?


This is the time for lawn and garden activities. Spread the weed and feed, mulch the flower beds, and plant some color. I like to trim my trees and shrubs this time of year, before it gets too hot to perform manual labor outside.


It is cliché, of course, but now is a great time to do Spring cleaning. It’s called “Spring cleaning” for a reason. This is the time to clear your freezer and pantry of old food, arrange your pantry, and organize your closets. It just makes sense to organize your closet as you switch out your clothing (move cold weather clothing to the back of your closet and drawers, and move warm weather clothing to the front, etc.) As you organize your closet, you can set things aside to donate to charity. If you haven’t tried the Marie Kondo method yet, this would be a great situation to apply it. The Kondo method is to ask yourself about each item, “Does this spark joy?” Kondo says, “If it does, keep it. If not, dispose of it.” If you are interested in learning more about the Kondo method, check out her book, “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up' by Marie Kondo.


I like to switch out Winter décor with Spring décor. Packing away my Christmas decorations made me sad back in January. Breaking out some Spring or Easter decorations makes me happy again. If you have neutral window treatments, it is easy to switch a few things and convert your home from a winter wonderland to a Springtastic nest. These pictures show an example of how you can transform bedroom décor for Spring by switching a comforter cover, a few throw pillows, and a few accessories:






Add some fast and inexpensive Easter cheer by just throwing some Easter eggs in a vase and adding a few bunnies:




Typical sales and specials to expect in April include Tax Day and Earth Day specials. Entrance to National Parks will be free April 15-16 and 22-23 as part of National Park Week. You can catch some good jewelry sales in April; jewelry stores tend to offer incentives now, because otherwise purchases are slow between Valentine’s Day and Mother’s Day. April is the time for garage sales, and it will be a great time of year to shop at thrift stores if you enjoy them. The prices at thrift shops probably won’t be any better than usual, but they tend to have a larger selection and better quality after people have done their Spring cleaning and closet organization.


Maybe you could use a little of the money you save at these sales to purchase some Spring décor for your house and some Spring flowering plants for your yard. What are your favorite Spring décor items?


11 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page